PDA

View Full Version : FYI - positive review of Sierra Mist

Android
09-26-2005, 01:37 PM
I'm not a fan of Sierra Mist, but I know a couple of people here like it, so I thought I'd post this.

I'm a fan of sci-fi/fantasy author Orson Scott Card, and I regularly read his columns (which are from his local newspaper that are also posted to his website.) In his columns he reviews and gives his opinions on all sorts of things. He's not a fan of really strong sugary or syrupy products, so I wasn't too surprised when, in the course of a recent column, he praised Sierra Mist. While dissing Aquafina citris flavored water. It's in the middle of a fairly long column, I'll quote the the part of it that relates to waters and sodas:

In my ongoing search for low-calorie drinks -- not because I'm dieting, but because when I'm busy overeating, I don't want to drink the surplus calories -- I've found a few excellent new entries.

Clear Splash makes a group of gently carbonated fruit-flavored no-calorie drinks that I can drink with a meal without feeling bloated, the way more heavily-carbonated drinks do. They complement a meal instead of taking over.

Fruit Refreshers lemonade is delicious and not too sweet. With no calories, you can drink it like water.

I gave Aquafina's fruit-flavored waters a try -- after all, I reviewed Dasani's lemon water favorably and I can't favor Coke's products without also sampling Pepsi's, can I?

Well, yes, I can. I'm not Consumer Reports, after all. I'm just a guy who tells you when I find good stuff. I try to be fair, but I have no obligation to be complete.

So I sampled Aquafina's citrus-flavored water because the Amoco station in Buena Vista doesn't have Dasani's flavored waters. And guess what? Pepsi gets it wrong. The flavor is almost as strong as in soda pop. It no longer seems like a water.