PDA

View Full Version : Student needs help understanding Orange Soda Market!

carrollsk
11-10-2004, 08:25 PM
Hey,
I'm a grad student in Richmond, VA doing a project on Minute Maid orange soda. But i can't find information on it anywhere! You all seem very knowledgable about the market. Who is the orange soda leader? Is Coke cannabilizing MM Orange Soda or Fanta by being the parent company to both? Do you know of any trends that are taking place? And why can't i find Minute Maid Orange Soda in my supermarket, or even on Minute Maid's website?
Any info would be a huge help!
Feel free to email me at carrollsk@vcu.edu

SamC
11-10-2004, 08:50 PM
I will get nitpicked for this, but:

Long ago, when store brands were non-existant, KO (stock ticker for the Coca-Cola Company and my shorthand for it) had a line of flavors called Fanta (the origin of the name is an interesting story in and of itself). Including orange.

Over the years, KO lost market share to the new store brands and the level of support of Fanta dropped down to pretty much nothing.

However in the late 80s, KO launched Minute Maid sodas, including Orange. Supported with major marketing effort.

Meanwhile, however, in the "rest of the world" Fanta remained a major brand name for KO.

Eventually KO decided that it wanted one brand name in all the world, Fanta. So it relaunched Fanta in North America. Minute Maid got relaunched as a "premium" line, generally not included in the sales.

fusion
11-10-2004, 09:37 PM
Coke relaunched Fanta in the US, primarily as a discount line (at least at first). Most 2 liter Fanta flavors were pre-priced at 99 cents, while other brands were selling at $1.29 to $1.59. Eventually the pre-priced labels went away in most markets.

Also, after Fanta was relaunched, Minute Maid sodas took a nose-dive. The numbers dropped significantly.

The numbers for 2002 are:

Fanta 73.9 million cases. 99.5% growth over prior year.

Minute Maid 102.9 million cases. -28% growth.