PDA

View Full Version : Mexican coke, pepsi, fanta, crush, etc.

gsusser
10-17-2005, 01:58 PM
If this has been discussed, I apologize. Someone please point the way cuz I couldn't find anything. If not...

Can someone comment on the legality of these drinks in the US? I have been able to get them for my cafe in NJ from Mexican distribution places. I've been told they're a gray market item but could never figure out why. Maybe it has something to do with my not speaking Spanish. Only one out of a whole bunch of Mexican distribution places has been willing to deliver the product. And the invoice always sez something completely different than what I'm getting. Now, this same place is telling me that only coke is legal and they can't get fanta, crush, sprite, 7 up, etc. No reason was given.

Can someone explain all this? Thanks, glenn

karks88
10-17-2005, 05:19 PM
I'm far from a legal expert but from what I know, this all has to do with the territorial rights of bottlers. I think that local bottlers get upset when someone buys a Mexican product because that cuts into their Coke or Pepsi sales.

I remember Pepsi causing a fuss about this a couple of years ago with some internet retailers. They forced them to stop selling the Mexican versions. I'm not sure how Coke feels about it. I've talked to people at the company who didn't seem to mind at all but I'm not sure if that is the "official position" on it.

There was a report in the Atlanta Journal Constitution several months ago that said both companies were actually thinking of importing Mexican sodas themselves in special glass bottles. Then, they would sell them in stores for a premium.

[ 10-17-2005, 04:20 PM: Message edited by: karks88 ]

ramonazo
10-17-2005, 05:51 PM