PDA

View Full Version : When to go full-time?

bullman
06-21-2006, 05:09 PM
I'm curious to see if there are any other part-timers out there on the BevBoard who are close to having to decide whether or not to jump into vending with both feet and give up the day/full-time job.

I have 7 machines, 5 of which are placed and are doing well. Sales are WAY up. We are devoting 4 machines to soda and snacks, and 3 to energy drinks and special interest items (like V8 and water). The other two will be placed soon.

On the flip side, my day job is a corporate sales position that would completely own my time both day and night if I would let it, and has up until I decided to get into vending. Giving up any time at all in the evenings and sometimes during the day to do my vending business as you can imagine, sends tidal waves of stress and pressure into my life. With just 7 machines, I have already reached the point where something needs to give.

I have considered getting a part-time job, but every part-time job I have found only pays between $8 to $10 per hour, which is peanuts. It almost wouldn't be worth my time at all, and I certainly would not be able to pay my bills making that kind of money. I have also asked myself if the real cost of working a part-time job would be greater than if I jumped into my vending business full-time so that it could grow at a much faster rate than sharing my daytime with a low-paying part-time job that won't pay my bills anyway.

I do have some cash reserves, but I really don't want to have to live on that because it wouldn't last but a few months and took too long to save it anyway.

My question is, if you really bust your rump and invest your profits back into the business to buy more machines to place and in between buying new machines, grow your business by placing 3rd party machines, if you work it hard full time, what kind of growth is reasonable to expect?