PDA

View Full Version : What is the value of an established soda machine?

jbclem
09-23-2006, 07:49 PM
I'm looking at a soda machine for sale that is established in a complex with 3 companies(150 employees). The owner says he sells 700-850 cans a month, and makes $450-750 a month. He doesn't pay anything for the location, and the machine has never needed repair or been damaged.

I'm new to vending, especially soda vending, and would like to hear some opinions on valuing this machine. The asking price is $2500.

John

fusion
09-23-2006, 09:32 PM
How old is the machine?

the saint
09-23-2006, 10:06 PM
math doesn't add up. If he is selling between 700 and 850 cans a month there is no way he is making 750 bucks a month.

As far as the machine never needing repair, well he has been lucky, you on the other hand will kind of end up being that Murphy guy, if it can happen it will. LOL.

$2500 seems a bit steep for one machine, besides if he only has one machine, why sell it if it IS making 750 a month? I wouldn't sell it for what it makes in 3 months time, maybe a years time but not three months

IMHO, something stinks in Denmark, friend.

jbclem
09-23-2006, 10:39 PM
I haven't seen the machine yet, I only know it's a Pepsi machine. How much profit would you make per can? I also don't yet know why he's selling, but there are lots of legitimate reasons, such as moving away. I have seen that happen, and watched the machine price come down (by 50%) as the moving date approached. I can meet with him and see the machine, but I wanted to gather as much information as I could before I did that.

If someone can give me an idea of the markup on a can (of Pepsi?) it will help alot. Also, what is the value of a used soda machine without a location?

I don't know how old the machine is, but the owner has had it 4 years. What kind of repair problems are normal with soda machines? I'm an auto mechanic so I expect to do my own repairs...are there expensive parts in these machines?