PDA

View Full Version : Seeking RARE fruit flavored soda

sbfan2000
03-02-2007, 08:14 PM
12-13 years ago I went to Belize a small country in Central America at the tip of Mexico.

While I was there I and one of the other guys on the trip discovered a fruit flavored soda that was called champaigne. (like the bubbly alcoholic drink) I was a highschool student so I don't remember much beyond that it was hard to find, it was very good, and that It was called Champagne. I remember we only found it in two stores during our whole trip and that when we found it they only ever had 2 or 3 bottles in stock. I also remember contacting the manufacturer when I returned to the states (I think it was Coca-cola) and was told that it wasn't available in the US because US citizens want cola not fruit flavors.

Anyway, I returned to Belize last month and spent the whole trip asking for Champagne. Also on this lastest trip was the teacher that also enjoyied it with me 12-13 years ago. He said he thought it was a flavor of Fanta which made sense to me since I was nearly sure that Coca-cola was the business I had contacted years earlier. Anyway, we both spent the entire trip this year looking for "champaigne" fruit soda and never found it.

Does anyone please know 1. what brand it was, 2. who makes/made it, and 3. can it still be gotten?

Thanks for any help, all my research is coming up empty!

Frustrated,
Glenn

fusion
03-03-2007, 09:47 PM
Email or call the Coca-Cola company. Maybe they can help you.

Or, here is the local bottler's info:

Belize Chamber of Commerce and Industry (http://www.belize.org/index.php?dbi=dbi1&descrip=full&ID=10424)

sbfan2000
03-03-2007, 11:37 PM
First thing I tried was contacting Coke via e-mail. Amazingly I did get a response and they said that it was not one of their products. I still say it was/is but they say it wasn't.