PDA

View Full Version : Kosher Soda



halloaaryn
03-03-2007, 04:43 AM
So can a soda with HFCS be kosher?

Mr Zabe
03-03-2007, 05:08 AM
NO (said not to be rude . LOL)
HFCS is not Kosher for Passover.
The reason why some of us are all excited for
KP soda pop is that it is sweetened with cain sugar. :)

Android
03-03-2007, 11:51 AM
it is sweetened with cain sugar.

Hey, Mr Zabe and others - I finally gotta say something. I've noticed that some people here have been spelling it wrong http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/images/smiles/eusa_naughty.gif - it's sugar CANE, as in say, candy-canes, ya know? (not Cain as in the Biblical son of Adam and Eve) :D

Sugar Cane - Wikipedia entry, (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sugar_cane)
Cain and Abel - Wikipedia entry (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cain)

-Andy

SamC
03-03-2007, 11:56 AM
HFCS is "kosher", as are all grains and vegetables.

However, during Passover, which is an eight day period in the spring, Jews are not supposed to eat grains that are capable of levening, which is to say grains that react to yeast, unless a Rabbi certifies that no yeast is present. Certain Jewish groups believe that corn (which is a native American crop not mentioned in the Bible) is included. Others do not.

"Kosher for Passover" generally means that the processor has excluded grains, including corn and thus HFCS.

Mr Zabe
03-03-2007, 01:10 PM
Hey, Mr Zabe and others - I finally gotta say something. I've noticed that some people here have been spelling it wrong http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/images/smiles/eusa_naughty.gif - it's sugar CANE, as in say, candy-canes, ya know? (not Cain as in the Biblical son of Adam and Eve) :D

Sugar Cane - Wikipedia entry, (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sugar_cane)
Cain and Abel - Wikipedia entry (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cain)

-Andy

Oh well that's spelling in cyberspace. LOL If I have cained on your parade so sorry. No bad intended. LOL Blame it on my spell check. LOL