PDA

View Full Version : Pricing Advice for new beverage?

redmatch
03-26-2008, 03:18 PM
Hi everyone, :D

I'm new to this, I have an idea I'm ready to pursue, and am planning on starting a beverage company to produce and market it.

I understand the costs of product formulation, as well as bottling.

I need to understand the pricing decision before I begin to approach my first potential customers. Can someone tell me a ballpark per-unit cost and pricing range? The drink is 12 ounces, nonalcoholic, and would be sold in retail stores like GNC, nightclubs, bars, and hotel minibars.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

greg
03-26-2008, 05:05 PM
There are a lot of variables to consider, however, given your potential distribution points it seems you will have a "specialty" type product.
My suggestion is take your cost and add 40-50% margin for you. Of course when you sell it to distributors you can eat some of your margin by offsetting with volume. Try and make the Dist 30-40% margin when give your regular wholesale price( price he sells it to retailer) from there the retailer will want 40-50% margin and maybe even 60%.

These may seem high but you must consider what your initial cost is and the volume discounts you will give to dist's. In the end it will usually be OK, again, you must have your cost as low as possible and be spot on. Always allow your self room to increase price in nthe future without killing the pricing structure.

redmatch
03-26-2008, 05:22 PM
There are a lot of variables to consider, however, given your potential distribution points it seems you will have a "specialty" type product.
My suggestion is take your cost and add 40-50% margin for you. Of course when you sell it to distributors you can eat some of your margin by offsetting with volume. Try and make the Dist 30-40% margin when give your regular wholesale price( price he sells it to retailer) from there the retailer will want 40-50% margin and maybe even 60%.