PDA

View Full Version : Energy drink cost question

rdressler
05-09-2010, 02:49 PM
I am a student working on a comprehensive promotional plan for AMP energy drink. We have to create a soup-to-nuts plan that will promote the drink in several cities from cost to artwork etc. Our plan is to have several large trucks parked in major cities with people outside them distributing cans of AMP for free but cannot find the cost of how much it would cost AMP itself per can.

Does anyone have any idea as to their markup/pricing model that would make finding this information possible?

greg
05-10-2010, 02:14 PM
Thats going to be pretty tough info to find. ACTUAL cost of goods is kept highly confidential.
Your best bet would be to state the wholesale cost of goods to determine the cost of the promotion.
Last time I checked a case of 24 8oz cans were between $24-$32. I believe the 16oz case is around $48.

Perhaps our resident Pepsi boys can help you out.

burntreality
05-10-2010, 03:05 PM
I bet if you contacted the company they could probably give you an exact answer. Most times when it comes to promotional things like that you would be amazed at how generous companies will be.

fusion
05-10-2010, 10:11 PM
There's not really a simple answer to that question.

First off, Greg is correct. That's confidential information. I highly doubt Pepsi would be forthcoming with that information.

Secondly, Pepsi and their bottling arm, Pepsi Beverages Company, contract out most of the canning of Amp to 3rd party companies, or other Pepsi bottlers. So you've got the actual cost to produce the product, and then the profit that the canner makes.

Probably the closest you could come to approximate cost would be the wholesale cost that stores pay the distributor.