American Craft Distillers Association Elects Inaugural Board of Directors

NEW YORK, March 4, 2014 — The American Craft Distillers Association (ACDA) announces today the election of its inaugural Board of Directors.

“There is no way to overemphasize the magnitude of this election,” states Tom Potter of New York Distilling Co, and Chairman of the ACDA Elections Committee.

“This is a groundbreaking moment-the creation of a sustaining, long-term representation of craft distillers that will drive the entire industry forward for years to come.”

“What is so profound,” notes ACDA Executive Director Pennfield Jensen, “is the fact that America’s craft distillers can now speak with a collective voice on issues that are important and unique to the sector. At the same time, ACDA allows our community to work more effectively with industry stalwarts such as The Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (DISCUS), the Wine and Spirits Wholesalers of America (WSWA), the Association of Alcohol Beverage Licensees (ABL), and the Brewer’s Association (BA) as a truly collective voice.”

The ACDA Bylaws established three geographic regions from which five board members were elected-East Coast, Central & Mountain, and Pacific zones-for a total of 15 Board Members.

“We thank each of the candidates who agreed to run,” states Tom Potter. “This is a group that together offered a truly impressive initial slate; and we thank each of our member DSP’s that participated in the process by voting. ”


            Nicole Austin, Kings County Distillery

            Ralph Erenzo, Tuthilltown Spirits

            Ted Huber, Starlight Distillery

            Steve Johnson, Vermont Spirits

            Rick Wasmund, Copper Fox Distillery


            Rory Donovan, Peach Street Distillers

            Paul Hletko, Few Spirits

            Todd Leopold, Leopold Brothers

            Chip Tate, Balcones Distilling

            Andrew Webber, Corsair Artisan Distillery


            Patrick Bernards, Bull Run Distilling

            Yuseff Cherney, Ballast Point Brewing and Distilling

            John Dannerbeck, Anchor Distilling

            Tom Mooney, House Spirits Distillery

            Orlin Sorensen, Woodinville Whiskey

Well over 70 percent of ACDA’s eligible members voted in the election. A list of all the candidates can be found [here] on the ACDA Website.

Officers will be elected at the first Board Meeting and installed during the  ACDA Distillers Convention & Trade Show in Denver on Friday evening, March 14th.